Notre-Dame de l’Association at Vinezac
The earliest references to Vinezac( 8th century ) can be found in Viviers church’s medieval cartulary. The village’s romanesque church was clearly mentioned in 1255 in an exchange between the bishop of Viviers and the cathedral’s chapter and it has since been classed as a historic monument.
The church was an integral part of the inner fortifications that protected the village during the 100-year war and it boasts a simple nave ending in a semicircular apse. Despite being modified several times over the years, notably by the addition of two lateral naves in the 19th century, it has managed to retain the romanesque spirit of its origins. The polygon-shaped chevet is beautifully illuminated by day. The interior holds considerable iconographic interest; its five nave capitals offer different interpretations of the antique corinthian style, and a sixth explores aggressive and fantastic themes through a strange animal décor.
There are few remaining vestiges of the ancient romanesque portal, partially destroyed by the creation of the south lateral nave, but two finely sculpted capitals (although somewhat deteriorated) attest to the church’s fine workmanship. There is a bas-relief of Daniel in the lion pit of the south wall of the church; the shapes are vague but the sculpture doubtless doesn’t date prior to the end of the 11th century.
A number of stalls are located in the lower north side where the members of the brotherhood of the “Pénitents noirs de Vinezac” would gather to honour Saint Sebastian.